Litter-Robot 5 and 5 Pro Review: First-Year Cost, What the Pro Adds and Early Owner Reports







The Litter-Robot 5 ($799) and 5 Pro ($899 at litter-robot.com, 10/14/2026) are the models we'd point to over the Litter-Robot 4 only if you want the on-unit LCD, the 3–30 lb rated range, or the Pro's cameras; the mechanism, consumables, and 1-year warranty are the same. The first year comes to about $909 for the 5 and about $1,009 for the Pro before sales tax, with no required subscription. The reason to wait is the only independent report on the Pro: bgr.com (02/08/2026) logged "extended scale activity" errors with no cat near the unit and manual resets "at least once a week."
you have a cat over 25 lb or five cats, and you want per-visit waste logging and an LCD on the unit; the Pro only if you will pay $7.99/month for facial-recognition cat ID or need 5 GHz Wi-Fi.
the $100–$200 premium over the Litter-Robot 4 buys nothing you listed, or you want more than one independent review behind a purchase. The 4 is in our Litter-Robot 4 review; the whole line is in the Litter-Robot brand review.
- Cat weight
- 3–30 lb
- Cats (max)
- 5
- Type
- Rotating globe
- App required
- No
- Subscription
- No subscription
- First-year cost
- $909
Specs and sources
Checked 10/09/2026 · source under each valueSize & pets
Mechanism
Power & connectivity
App & subscription
Consumables
Safety & recalls
Buying
Compared with similar self-cleaning litter boxes
All 28 self-cleaning litter boxes →| Model | Score | Price | Subscription | 1st-year cost | Cat weight | Cats (max) | Warranty | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | 9.75/10 | $599.99 | No subscription | $731 | 3–20 lb | 4 | 1 yr | See specs → |
Litter-Robot 4 | 9.5/10 | $699 | No subscription | $824 | 3–25 lb | 4 | 1 yr | |
Litter-Robot 5 / Litter-Robot 5 Pro | 9.5/10 | $799 | No subscription | $909 | 3–30 lb | 5 | 1 yr | |
PETKIT Purobot Ultra Automatic Litter Box | 9.5/10 | $799.99 sale / $899.99 list | Subscription optional | not enough data (plan) | 3.3–22 lb | not listed by PETKIT | 2 yrs | |
Homerunpet Self Cleaning Litter Box for Large Cats | 9.25/10 | $699 | No subscription | not enough data (consumables interval) | not listed by HomeRunPet | not listed by HomeRunPet | 1 yr | See specs → |
Verdict
What we checked: Whisker's 5 and 5 Pro product pages, the 50-page manual (doc code LR5-8099), and the warranty, returns, and financing pages on 10/09/2026; the App Store listing; 8 owner reviews on Trustpilot and the App Store through 10/09/2026; three written reviews (bgr.com, cats.com, 9to5toys.com); the CPSC recall database on 10/09/2026. Reddit, Chewy, and Amazon did not load for our tools, and we did not reach the checkout.
What changed vs Litter-Robot 4
Whisker launched the 5 line on 10/21/2025. Against the 4, the vendor pages and manual list a full-color LCD with physical buttons (manual, p. 20–22) instead of lights; "3-30 lb cat weight range" instead of 3–25 lb; "up to 5 cats" instead of four; a 10-day one-cat drawer claim instead of 8; WasteID, which the press release says tells feces from urine on each visit; and a gas sensor named in the use-and-care article. The Pro adds "an integrated dual camera system for advanced cat identification" with a 160° diagonal interior view (manual, p. 8), the $29 PetTag RFID collar, and 5 GHz Wi-Fi (p. 44). Unit weight rises from 24 lb to 28.7 lb (Pro 29.6 lb), and the three-year WhiskerCare plan is $149 instead of $129. The 4 itself is covered in our Litter-Robot 4 review.
Claimed vs measured
Whisker claims 10 days per drawer for one cat and prints no decibel figure; the independent reports cover the drawer and the sensors, not the noise.
| Metric | Whisker claims | Independent result | Who, when, conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Waste drawer, one cat | "Go up to 10 days between emptying the waste drawer in a one-cat household" (product page, 10/09/2026); "once every 10 days" (manual, p. 17) | "every seven to ten days" | Reinette LeJeune, 9to5toys.com, 04/14/2026; cat count and litter not stated |
| Sensor errors | "optical sensors, weight sensors, and obstruction detection sensors" (manual, p. 42) | "extended scale activity" with no cat near; resets "at least once a week during testing"; "Motor issues popped up regularly" | Christian de Looper, bgr.com, 02/08/2026; 5 Pro; conditions not stated |
The manual's own FAQ (p. 43) still says "once per week for a single cat." On noise, the page says "QuietSift® technology that minimizes noise," 9to5toys says "more quietly and smoothly" without a number, and cats.com (03/15/2026; units sent by Whisker) measured nothing; we found no independent dB reading for the 5 as of 10/14/2026.
Real price: list, street, tax, shipping and subscription
The Litter-Robot 5 shows "As low as $799" and the 5 Pro "As low as $899" at litter-robot.com on 10/09/2026 and again on 10/14/2026, with no struck-through list price and no sale; the fence, one carbon filter, and five liners are in the box. Bundles run from $948 (Warranty) to $1,771 (Double, two units) on both dates. PetSmart listed the 5 at $799 and the Pro at $899.99 on 10/09/2026.
Shipping is "Free shipping (ex. AK/HI/PR)." Sales tax varies by state and is added at checkout, which we did not reach; Whisker's FAQ has no sales-tax entry (10/14/2026). No subscription is required; Whisker+ is optional at $7.99/month after a 30-day trial or $79.90/year (litter-robot.com/whisker-plus, 10/14/2026).
First-year cost
10/14/2026| Device | $799 | $799 |
|---|---|---|
| Shipping | $0 | free to the contiguous US per the vendor page |
| Plan (12 months) | $0 | no plan needed |
| Consumables (12 months) | $110 | Waste Drawer Liners $25, every 10 days · Litter-Robot Carbon Filters $12, every 30 days |
| First-year cost | $909 | plus sales tax — varies by state |
| Each year after | $110 | plan and consumables at the vendor's intervals |
Category median first-year cost in our database: $622.50.
About $909 for the Litter-Robot 5 and about $1,009 for the 5 Pro before sales tax, from Whisker's prices and intervals:
- Litter-Robot 5: $799, or 5 Pro: $899 (litter-robot.com, 10/14/2026); shipping $0 to the contiguous US; required subscription $0
- Waste drawer liners: $25 for 25, $1 each; "once every 10 days" for one cat (manual, p. 17) is about 37 liners, about $37
- Carbon filters: $12 for 2, $6 each; "approximately 1 month" each (manual, p. 35), about 12 filters, about $73
- First year, before tax: about $909 (5) or about $1,009 (5 Pro), plus sales tax — varies by state
Not in that total: OdorTrap packs, $15 per 3-pack, "every 2-4 weeks" (manual, p. 36); Whisker+ at $79.90/year; the $29 PetTag for the Pro; litter, which is your choice, with a fill of about 1 gallon (4 L) (p. 13). Any 10–13 gallon bag works in place of the liners (p. 17); two cats empty every 5 days per the use-and-care article, which doubles the liner line.
Where to buy: official vs Amazon vs Chewy
Prices checked 10/14/2026Prices as printed on the store page on the date shown, before sales tax; stock and bundles differ by store.
On 10/09/2026 the 5 line was at Whisker's own store and PetSmart at the same prices: $799 for the 5 and $899 or $899.99 for the Pro, with 2 and 12 PetSmart reviews and no star average shown. Chewy's search returned HTTP 429 to our tools on 10/09/2026 and 10/14/2026, with no Litter-Robot 5 in its snippets, and Whisker has no official Amazon listing. No seller requires a subscription. The difference is paperwork: units from Whisker's stores get the 90-day in-home trial and automatic registration, while robots bought elsewhere need manual activation and the extended plan "Does not apply to robots sold by anyone other than Whisker or Whisker-approved distributors."
Financing
Not checked at checkout as of 10/09/2026. The product pages show only "Buy now, pay over time," with no monthly figure. Whisker's financing page says "Your rate will be 0%–36% APR based on credit" over "3, 6, 12, or 18 months" through Affirm.
Warranty and returns
One year of WhiskerCare is included; the three-year plan is $149 for both the 5 and the 5 Pro, $20 more than for the 4. The legal page lists accidental damage, defects, power surges, mechanical and electrical breakdowns, and software support; exclusions are modifications, non-Whisker parts or third-party service, pet-caused property damage, and a "$75 cleaning fee" for units returned unclean. Returns within the 90-day in-home trial cost your own shipping or a $60 prepaid label deducted from the refund, need an RMA, and post "within 7-10 business days" after receipt (the FAQ on the same page says 10–30 days). A Trustpilot reviewer (09/25/2026) says a Costco unit "comes with a year warranty" that cannot be extended.
Parts, consumables and support in the US
The 5 line uses the same consumables as the 4 at the same printed prices (10/09/2026): Waste Drawer Liners $25 for 25, now drawstring; Carbon Filters $12 for 2, "Compatible with Litter-Robot 4, Litter-Robot 5/Pro, Litter-Robot EVO"; OdorTrap Packs $15 for 3, with a $30 holder that "snaps right into the Litter-Robot 5 filter cover" (manual, p. 36); PetTag $29, Pro only. The LCD prompts "Replace filter soon" and "New filter required." Accessories are on the Litter-Robot accessories page.
Support is the same Auburn Hills, Michigan desk: phone 1-877-250-7729, chat, and tickets. Whisker's error-code article for the 5 lists "Extended scale activity: The scale detected activity for over 30 minutes," among others. As a seller, Whisker holds 3.3/5 on Trustpilot over 609 reviews and an A+ with the BBB, with 89 complaints in three years (both 10/09/2026).
Sensor, cat detection and safety stops
The 5 adds sensors to the 4's two-way detection, and the minimum weight is printed two ways. Whisker says the unit uses "multiple lasers and weight sensor technology" to detect entries and exits. Manual, p. 23: "If additional weight is detected during a cycle, the Globe will stop. After 15 seconds of the additional weight exiting, the Globe rotation will resume. The weight sensors are also used to weigh waste after each visit." Page 48 prints "CLASS 1 LASER PRODUCT," IEC 60825-1:2014, and EN 50689:2021.
The product page says "3-30 lb cat weight range." The manual says cats "must weigh 2 pounds or more" (p. 3), "Kittens must weigh at least 2lb" (p. 33), and "between 2 and 30 pounds" (p. 42); the manual's 2 lb is below the 3 lb (1.36 kg) the Litter-Robot 4 manual prints. The one independent report, bgr.com (02/08/2026), is about detection failing: "extended scale activity" with nothing in the globe, the same error that leads Whisker's own error-code list.
Waste drawer, liners and odor control
The manual's drawing prints the drawer at 5.50 x 13.50 x 19.00 in (p. 8), with no volume in liters. Liners are drawstring now, and "white bags work best" (p. 17, p. 35). Odor control is the monthly carbon filter in the drawer cover plus the optional OdorTrap holder; none of the 8 owner reviews we read mentioned odor, and there is no independent odor measurement.
Litter type, cleaning and maintenance
Clumping litter only. Manual, p. 13: "We recommend a high-quality, clay-clumping litter, such as GreatLitter®. Litter beads and crystals that are small enough to pass through the screen will also work"; non-clumping and newspaper-based litters are ruled out, and translucent or white litter "may impact the LitterLevel® and Drawer Full" (p. 3). Footprint is 22.00 x 27.25 x 29.50 in in the manual (p. 8), 29.9 in tall on the product page; the entryway is 15.75 x 15.75 in. A rechargeable 12 V backup battery is an option (p. 34).
App and privacy
Whisker's FAQ says "The Whisker app is not required for Litter-Robot to function" without naming a model (litter-robot.com/faq.html, 10/14/2026); the 5's "offline" support article says only that "remote commands will not function," and the 5 has an LCD with "real-time updates and notifications" and physical buttons (manual, p. 20–22). The 5 is "2.4 GHz only (5 GHz band not supported)"; the Pro "can be used on either 5ghz or 2.4ghz WiFi networks" (p. 44).
Free in the app: "SmartScale identification and weight tracking," WasteID, and for the Pro "real-time video streaming (5 minutes daily)" with "the last 2 days of videos and events" in the cloud. Whisker+ adds unlimited streaming, AI facial-recognition cat ID, two years of history, and Patterns (beta). On the App Store (10/09/2026) the app holds 4.8 of 5 over 148K ratings; on Google Play (10/14/2026) it is rated 4.7 over about 60,000 reviews, and the Data safety section says "No data shared with third parties" and lists Personal info, Photos and videos, and App activity as data the app may collect. The App Store privacy label, verbatim. Data Linked to You: Advertising or Marketing, Contact Info (Email Address, Name); Analytics, Identifiers (User ID, Device ID); App Functionality, Contact Info (Email Address, Name), User Content (Photos or Videos), Identifiers (User ID, Device ID), Usage Data (Product Interaction). Data Used to Track You: Contact Info, Identifiers. On the Pro, "Photos or Videos" includes the camera footage.
Recalls and safety notices
No recall found as of 10/14/2026: the saferproducts.gov recall API returned nothing for "Whisker," "Litter-Robot," or "litter box" that day. On 10/09/2026 we searched cpsc.gov/Recalls for the same terms; none of the listings related to this product.
What owners say
Checked 10/09/2026Not enough owner reviews read yet (8 read on App Store, Trustpilot), so no Owner Complaint Index for this model: we publish it from 50 reviews.
- Vendor (litter-robot.com) LR5brand's own site, not counted · 10/09/2026 · page header 4.6/5.0 vs reviews section 4.7/5.0 — inconsistent on page4.6/5254 reviews
- Vendor (litter-robot.com) LR5 Probrand's own site, not counted · 10/09/20264.5/5312 reviews
- PetSmart10/09/2026 · 2 (LR5) + 12 (Pro) reviews, no star average shown14 reviews
- App Store3 read · 10/09/20264.8/5148,000 ratings
- Trustpilot (seller)about the seller · 5 read · 10/09/20263.3/5609 reviews
Mixed, or too few independent ratings to call. In our score this is 1.75 of 2 points. How we score
Vendor (litter-robot.com) LR5 shows 4.6/5 from 254 reviews on its own page; brand-site reviews are not counted in the score.
- quieter than earlier models (9to5toys, vetstreet — no numbers)
- WasteID / per-cat insights in app (cats.com 4.6/5)
- support shipped replacement parts promptly (Trustpilot Sep 2026)
Reviews on the brand's own site and reviews written for a free product are not counted. Store ratings change over time; the date shows when we checked.
Not enough owner reviews read yet (8 read on Trustpilot and the App Store), so we publish no Owner Complaint Index; the 5 line has been on sale for under a year. We don't count Whisker's own page (4.6/5 over 254 reviews for the 5, printed as 4.7 in the reviews section; 4.5/5 over 312 for the Pro); r/litterrobot and Chewy did not load for our tools.
What owners complain about
Themes across the 8 reviews: sensor errors 3, app or Wi-Fi 2, motor or mechanical 2, customer support 2. "Customer service determined that we need a replacement power supply" (Trustpilot, 10/02/2026, a 5 that failed within a month; the part "could take a week"). An App Store review titled "None of the Advertised Features Work (Litter Robot 5 Pro)" (08/20/2026) says cat detection and weight recording fail while a subscription is still charged (paraphrase, not verbatim).
What owners praise
Replacement parts shipped promptly: "She ordered the parts I needed and told me when to expect them" (Trustpilot, 09/19/2026, a sensor problem). Reviewers rather than owners supply the other praise: the quieter cycle (9to5toys, no number) and WasteID insights (cats.com).
Pros and cons
Pros:
- 3–30 lb rated range and "up to 5 cats" on the product page, against 3–25 lb and four on the Litter-Robot 4
- LCD and buttons on the unit (manual, p. 20–22), so error codes read without the app
- Same $1 liners and $6 filters as the 4; no required subscription
Cons:
- $100–$200 more than the Litter-Robot 4; about $909 or $1,009 in the first year
- The only independent Pro report logged sensor errors and weekly resets (bgr.com, 02/08/2026)
- Minimum weight printed as 3 lb (page) and 2 lb (manual, p. 3, p. 33, p. 42)
FAQ
Does the Litter-Robot 5 work without Wi-Fi?
Whisker says so only for the Litter-Robot 4. The 5 has an LCD and physical buttons (manual, p. 20–22), and the vendor does not state what stops with Wi-Fi off; its "offline" support article says only that "remote commands will not function."
What litter does the Litter-Robot 5 use?
Clumping clay, or beads and crystals "small enough to pass through the screen" (manual, p. 13); white or translucent litter can confuse the level sensor (p. 3).
How often do you empty the waste drawer?
Every 10 days for one cat, per the product page and manual (p. 17); every 5 days for two cats and every other day for four or five, per the use-and-care article. 9to5toys reported "every seven to ten days" (04/14/2026).
What is the minimum cat weight?
2 lb per the manual (p. 3, p. 33, p. 42) and 3 lb per the product page; the maximum is 30 lb on both. Large-cat alternatives are in the best automatic litter boxes.
How much does the Litter-Robot 5 cost?
$799 for the 5 and $899 for the 5 Pro at litter-robot.com on 10/14/2026, with free shipping to the contiguous US and no required subscription; liners and filters add about $110 a year.
What is the difference between the Litter-Robot 5 and 5 Pro?
$100, two cameras, the $29 PetTag, and 5 GHz Wi-Fi. Facial-recognition cat ID and unlimited streaming need Whisker+; without it you get five minutes of live video a day and two days of cloud history. Size, weight range, and consumables are the same.














