Best Cat Litter Mats of 2026: 7 Mats Compared by Size, Layers, Cleaning, and Price per Square Foot

7 models compared on price. Read the full summary ↓

All 7 models

7 of 7 models
7 of 7 models

All models compared

7 models · prices and specs checked 10/14/2026 · scroll →
All models compared: price, returns. Prices checked 10/14/2026.
ModelPriceReturns
Whisker Litter-Robot LitterTrap® Mat$5090 days
Drymate Premium Ridged Litter Trapping Mats$18.99not listed by Drymate
Pawkin Cat Litter Mat$27.99not listed by Pawkin
ExquisiCat® Pocketed 2-Layer Cat Litter Trapping Mat$16.99 sale / $29.99 list60 days
Gorilla Grip Honeycomb Cat Litter Mat$20.99not listed by Gorilla Grip
Gorilla Grip Mesh Cat Litter Mat$25.99not listed by Gorilla Grip
PETLIBRO Luma Litter Trapping Mat$29.9930 days

The short answer

We track 7 models. Prices run $16.99 to $50, checked 10/14/2026.

None of these mats gets a score or a store link from us; this page sorts the seven by price per square foot. By that arithmetic the most floor per dollar is the Drymate Jumbo Ridged mat, $35.99 for 36 x 47 in at PetSmart on 10/09/2026, about $3.06 a square foot, and it is the only mat here its maker says is machine washable. For litter that should drop out of sight, the double-layer mats trap it in a lower layer: the ExquisiCat Pocketed 2-Layer ($16.99 at PetSmart) and the Gorilla Grip Honeycomb ($20.99) are the cheapest. The Whisker LitterTrap Mat costs the most, $50, about $10.43 a square foot, and is the one sized to a Litter-Robot base. We have not read owner reviews for any of them yet.

All 7 compared

All 7 compared
MatSize (in)LayersMaterial (maker or store)Cleaning (maker's words)Price (10/09/2026 unless noted)Per sq ft
Drymate Jumbo Ridged36 x 47single, ridgedpolyester (PetSmart)hose off or "wash on a delicate cycle"$35.99, PetSmartabout $3.06
ExquisiCat Pocketed 2-Layer24 x 30doublerubber (PetSmart)not stated$16.99 sale, $29.99 struck through, PetSmartabout $3.40
Gorilla Grip Honeycomb30 x 24doublenot listed"rinse with soap and water"$20.99 (beige), gorillagrip.comabout $4.20
Gorilla Grip Mesh35 x 23single, mesh coilsnot listedvacuum, shake, mild soap and water$25.99 (gray), gorillagrip.comabout $4.65
Drymate Ridged20 x 28single, ridgedpolyester (PetSmart)hose off or delicate cycle$18.99, PetSmartabout $4.88
Pawkin Cat Litter Mat, X-Large35 x 23single, meshPVC (Pawkin)soap or detergent, spray, vacuum$27.99, Amazonabout $5.01
PETLIBRO Luma Litter Trapping Mat26.76 x 25.59not stated by PETLIBROEVA (PETLIBRO)"shake out or vacuum" (PetSmart)$29.99, petlibro.com (10/14/2026)about $6.31
Whisker LitterTrap Mat30 x 23doubleEVA foam mesh, polyester, PE film (Whisker)lift the mesh, dump, wipe$50, litter-robot.comabout $10.43

The Drymate appears twice because its two sizes sit far apart in the price-per-foot column; it is one product.

Drymate Ridged and Jumbo Ridged

For the largest floor area and a mat you can put in the washer. PetSmart sells three sizes on 10/09/2026: 20 x 28 in for $18.99, 28 x 36 in for $22.99 (out of stock), and the 36 x 47 in Jumbo for $35.99. Drymate says the ridges trap litter "between the channel grooves," the top layer is absorbent, and the backing is "Waterproof & slip-resistant." Cleaning, in Drymate's words: "hose off/power wash with soap. If machine washing, wash on a delicate cycle with a mild detergent. Hang to dry only (DO NOT BLEACH)." Drymate also says the mat is "Made in the USA," can be trimmed to size, and uses fiber with "a minimum of 50% recycled content." The catch: a ridged single layer holds litter on the surface rather than below it, and drymate.com itself shows no price or cart.

ExquisiCat Pocketed 2-Layer

The cheapest double-layer mat here, PetSmart's own brand, $16.99 on sale against a struck-through $29.99 (10/09/2026). PetSmart describes a "2-layer pocketed design" with a "Mesh top layer & solid bottom layer," so litter falls through and collects in a pocket you empty. It is rubber and made in China per the listing, and it carries PetSmart's 60-day return window. PetSmart shows 4.5 stars over 148 ratings, which we have not read. No cleaning instructions are printed, and 24 x 30 in is the only size.

Gorilla Grip Honeycomb

A double-layer mat in three sizes. Gorilla Grip says litter "will be captured within the large honeycomb holes on the top layer" and "falls through the holes to become trapped in the bottom, leak proof layer," so you tip it back into the box. The store's own catalog priced the 30 x 24 in beige at $20.99 and the same size in gray at $32.99 on 10/09/2026, a $12 gap for color alone. Cleaning is "rinse with soap and water, dry completely." Gorilla Grip does not print the mat's material on the product page; its Shipping & Returns page states no return window, only "contact us directly at hello@gorillagrip.com," and its "Quality Guarantee" says it wants you "to be 100% happy" with no time limit (gorillagrip.com, 10/14/2026).

Gorilla Grip Mesh

The widest size range here: ten sizes and shapes from 17 x 11 in at $9.99 to a 47 x 35 in Jumbo at $44.99, plus a half circle, a corner mat, and 2-packs (gorillagrip.com catalog, 10/09/2026). The 35 x 23 in gray is $25.99. Gorilla Grip describes "thick mesh coils that effectively grab litter" and "deep grooves," a "textured backing that helps it to stay in place," and a "WATER RESISTANT" build. It is a single layer, so litter sits in the mesh until you vacuum or shake it out. Prices for one size vary by color, $21.99 to $27.99 for the 35 x 23 in.

Pawkin Cat Litter Mat

A PVC mesh mat sold only through Amazon: pawkin.com sends every buyer there. The X-Large, 35 x 23 in, was $27.99 on Amazon's Pawkin brand store on 10/09/2026, where it showed 4.6 stars over 15,844 ratings; we could not open the product page or read reviews. Pawkin calls its mesh "Litter Lock" and says the mats "won't be damaged by your vacuum" and can be "washed with liquid soap or dish detergent, or sprayed down." It offers a "100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE" with no time limit stated. Pawkin also says the mat was "Independently laboratory tested" for phthalates; it names no lab or report, so that is its claim, not ours. A 47 x 35 in size is also listed; its price did not load for us on 10/09/2026 or 10/14/2026.

Whisker LitterTrap Mat

Built for the base of a Litter-Robot, and priced like it: $50 for 30 x 23 in in gray and black at litter-robot.com on 10/09/2026, with free shipping. It is a double layer: litter is "caught in its heavy-duty top mesh layer," you "lift the mesh lining and dump the litter granules," and a "urine-repellent plastic film" sits underneath. Whisker's page says "Designed for all Litter-Robot models"; on 10/09/2026 the gray and black variant text read "Use with Litter-Robot 3 or Litter-Robot 4," wording that was gone from the page on 10/14/2026. Opened mats can't be returned: "No returns on opened mat." Whisker's own page shows 4.6 over 928 reviews, which we don't count as owner data. The rest of Whisker's add-ons are on Litter-Robot accessories.

PETLIBRO Luma Litter Trapping Mat

An accessory for PETLIBRO's Luma self-cleaning litter box, $25.49 on sale against $29.99 at PetSmart on 10/09/2026, with zero reviews there. PetSmart's listing says to "shake out or vacuum trapped litter as needed" and to "place the mat under your Luma for a secure fit." petlibro.com lists it at $29.99, 26.76 x 25.59 in, material EVA, with a 24-month warranty and a 30-day return window (10/14/2026). It makes sense only if you own the Luma.

How to choose a litter mat

Start with the size of the exit. A self-cleaning box is bigger than a plain pan: the Litter-Robot 4 takes 22 x 27 in of floor, or 22 x 38 in with its ramp (manual, p. 10), so a 35 x 23 in mat or larger covers the step-out zone; for an open-top box with a low entry, width matters more than depth. If the mat is wider than the space, the Drymate can be trimmed and Gorilla Grip sells half-circle and corner shapes.

Then decide where the litter should go. Single-layer mesh or ridges (Pawkin, Gorilla Grip Mesh, Drymate) hold litter on top, and you vacuum or shake it off. Double-layer mats (ExquisiCat, Gorilla Grip Honeycomb, Whisker) let it fall into a lower layer you pour back or dump, which keeps it off paws but means lifting and emptying the mat.

Last, cleaning. Only Drymate mentions a washing machine; the others say rinse, spray, wipe, or vacuum. Several makers call their mats waterproof or urine-repellent: Drymate, Gorilla Grip, Pawkin, and Whisker. Only PETLIBRO prints a warranty for the mat itself, 24 months (petlibro.com, 10/14/2026); the other six print none.

What owners say

Not enough owner reviews read yet: zero for every mat (10/09/2026). The ratings shown on store pages are what we could see, not what we read: PetSmart 4.5 over 148 for the ExquisiCat, PetSmart 5.0 and 4.7 over three ratings each for two Drymate sizes, Amazon 4.6 over 15,844 for the Pawkin, and Whisker's own 4.6 over 928. Whisker's page carries three review excerpts; one asks for "sticky or suction base to prevent sliding around" (10/22/2025), another says "Would love it to be slightly wider but no complaints" (03/13/2026).

FAQ

What is the best litter mat for a Litter-Robot?

Whisker's LitterTrap Mat is the one sized to the base, 30 x 23 in, $50 at litter-robot.com on 10/09/2026. Whisker's page says "Designed for all Litter-Robot models"; on 10/09/2026 its variant text named only the Litter-Robot 3 and 4, and that line was gone on 10/14/2026. A 35 x 23 in mesh mat (Gorilla Grip $25.99, Pawkin $27.99) covers a similar area for about half. See Litter-Robot accessories.

Are double-layer litter mats better?

They trap litter below the surface, so less sticks to paws and you pour it back instead of vacuuming. The trade is emptying the mat. In this set the double-layer mats are ExquisiCat ($16.99), Gorilla Grip Honeycomb ($20.99), and Whisker ($50), all on 10/09/2026.

Can you put a cat litter mat in the washing machine?

Only Drymate says so here: "wash on a delicate cycle with a mild detergent. Hang to dry only." Gorilla Grip, Pawkin, and Whisker give rinse, spray, wipe, or vacuum instructions, and ExquisiCat prints none. Litter boxes that pair with a mat are compared on best automatic litter boxes.

How we picked

What we checked: the vendor or store page of each mat on 10/09/2026, including Shopify catalog data for Gorilla Grip, structured product data at PetSmart and litter-robot.com, and Amazon's Pawkin brand store; sizes, materials, cleaning instructions, return terms, and the claims each maker prints. Amazon product pages showed a captcha, Chewy blocked our tools, and PetSmart's review text loads by script, so no owner reviews were read (re-checked 10/14/2026). Method: how we research.

We don't score mats. Our five-point check is built for litter boxes, so this page is a table of facts sorted by price per square foot, which is our arithmetic: the listed price divided by the mat's area, and the sections below say who each mat suits. We left out brands whose official sites no longer sell mats or did not load: easyology, PetFusion, and iPrimio domains redirect to domain-sale or error pages, Conlun's did not respond, and Blackhole's returned 403.