Halo Collar 5

Halo Collar 5
Halo Collar 5, photo 2 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 3 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 4 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 5 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 6 of 6
1 / 6
Halo Collar 5
Halo Collar 5, photo 2 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 3 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 4 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 5 of 6
Halo Collar 5, photo 6 of 6
9.25OF 10
Excellent
Specs 2 · Cost 1.75 · Warranty & returns 2 · Owners 1.75 · App & plan 1.75 · How we score
Battery (claimed)
2 days
Network
LTE
Type
GPS fence
App required
Yes
Subscription
Subscription required · $119.88/yr
First-year cost
$664

Claimed vs measured

Claimed vs measuredbrand claim independent reading
Battery life
2 days
Halo Collar · 10/09/2026
'The collar battery lasts roughly 48 hours.' (author charges nightly)
Scott Einsmann, outdoorlife.com · 02/13/2026 · senior Brittany (weight not stated), fenced backyard, duration not stated
'I charged the battery every two days.'
Carol Bryant, petful.com · 12/11/2025 · Cocker Spaniel, suburban home + one state-park visit; outdoor boundaries not tested

Real cost, first year

10/14/2026
First-year cost · Halo Collar Halo Collar 5 · Price checked on 10/14/2026 at halocollar.com
Device$524$524 sale / $599 list
Shipping$19.99
Plan (12 months)$119.88
Consumables (12 months)$0
First-year cost$664plus sales tax — varies by state
Each year after$120plan and consumables at the vendor's intervals

Category median first-year cost in our database: $617.

Specs and sources

Checked 10/09/2026 · source under each value
App & subscription
AppHalo Collar · App Store 4.1 (9,398 ratings)apps.apple.com · 10/09/2026
App privacy labelApp Store (developer-provided): Data Linked to You — Analytics: Usage Data (Product Interaction); App Functionality: Location (Precise Location), Contact Info (Email Address, Name), User Content (Customer Support, Other User Content), Identifiers (User ID, Device ID), Usage Data. Data Not Linked to You — Diagnostics (Crash Data).apps.apple.com · 10/09/2026
SubscriptionSubscription required · $119.88/yrhalocollar.com · 10/09/2026
PlansBronze: $9.99/month; annual $9.16/mo (pay 11 months = $109.89/yr, '1 month free'); 2-year $8.74/mo (pay 21 months = $209.79) — up to 5 fences, unlimited cellular data, basic tracking, training content, live video support, $150 off new collars · Silver: $14.99/month; annual $13.74/mo ($164.89/yr); 2-year $13.12/mo ($314.79) — up to 20 fences, weekly/monthly activity reports, 1-on-1 setup session, 25% off accessories, $175 off new collars · Gold: $19.99/month; annual $18.32/mo ($219.89/yr); 2-year $17.49/mo ($419.79) — unlimited fences, advanced activity reports, live sessions with expert trainers, concierge support, 50% off accessories, $200 off new collars · Additional collar on same plan: '+ $9.99/mo.' (monthly), '+ $9.16/mo.' (annual), '+ $8.74/mo.' (2-year) per page JS; page JSON-LD says '$3.99/month' (Bronze) / '$4.99/month' (Silver, Gold) — conflict on the same pagehalocollar.com · 10/09/2026
Without a planHalo FAQ: 'A plan is required to keep your collar active and access all your Halo collar has to offer.' Support 4408451447319: 'An active plan is required to add a collar to your account, use Halo Fences, and begin Halo Training.' Paused plan (monthly only): 'No tracking or GPS connection (SIM is suspended)', 'No prevention feedback'. With an active plan, fences are stored on the collar and work without Wi-Fi/cellular: 'Fence feedback can still occur if the collar detects your dog approaching or crossing a boundary.'halocollar.com · 10/09/2026
Safety & recalls
CPSCNo recall found (searched 10/09/2026)cpsc.gov · 10/14/2026
Buying
Price$524 sale / $599 listhalocollar.com · 10/14/2026
Shipping (contiguous US)$19.99support.halocollar.com · 10/14/2026
FinancingPDP: 'as low as $29/mo with Affirm'. Financing page: Affirm, 'monthly payments over 6, 12, or 18 months' + 8-week option; footnote 'Based on a sale price of $524 paid over 8 weeks or 6 months with 0% APR, or paid over 18 with 15% APR' ($32/mo x18 at 15% APR; $87/mo x6 at 0%; $131 x 8 weeks at 0%). US only.halocollar.com · 10/09/2026
Warranty1 yr · extended: Halo Protection — 'Free with Pack Membership': replacement collar Bronze $449 / Silver $424 / Gold $399. Halo Care — '$9.99/mo per collar': replacement Bronze $199 / Silver $179 / Gold $149, 60-day waiting period (https://www.halocollar.com/protection-plans/)support.halocollar.com · 10/09/2026
Returns90 days · $25 return fee and handling fee (plus tax); shipping fees not refundablesupport.halocollar.com · 10/09/2026
SupportLive video support in virtual 'Dog Park' (https://dogpark.halocollar.com), chat; Bronze 'live video support', Silver 1-on-1 setup, Gold concierge. Owner reviews cite phone waits >2 h and chat waits (Trustpilot 2026-06).vendor support page
Brand page or manualRegulator database (CPSC)

Where to buy

Prices checked 10/14/2026
halocollar.com · official$524 sale / $599 listchecked 10/14/2026

Prices as printed on the store page on the date shown, before sales tax; stock and bundles differ by store.

Compared with similar wireless dog fences

All 11 wireless dog fences →
Similar wireless dog fences compared · Prices checked on 10/14/2026
ModelScorePriceSubscription1st-year costBattery (claimed)NetworkWarrantyActions
Halo Collar 4Halo Collar 49.5/10$424 sale / $549 listSubscription required · $119.88/yr$5641.25 daysLTE1 yr
PetSafe Guardian® GPS 2.0 Dog Fence + TrackingPetSafe Guardian® GPS 2.0 Dog Fence + Tracking9.5/10$449.99Subscription required · $119.88/yr$5702.9 daysdual-frequency GPS1 yr
Halo Collar 5Halo Collar 59.25/10$524 sale / $599 listSubscription required · $119.88/yr$6642 daysLTE1 yr
SpotOn GPS Dog Fence™ - Nova EditionSpotOn GPS Dog Fence™ - Nova Edition9.25/10$999Subscription optional$9991.67 daysGPS/GLONASS/Galileo/BeiDou1 yrSee specs →

Affiliate links

What owners say

Checked 10/09/2026
Owner reviewsToo few independent ratings
90owner reviews read on App Store, Trustpilot
  • App Store50 read · 10/09/2026 · 50 most recent (2026-09-21…2026-10-07), app v2.15–2.16; models mostly not stated4.1/59,398 ratings
  • Trustpilot40 read · 10/09/2026 · brand-level, pages 1–2 (2026-04-09…2026-10-02), Halo 2/3/4/5 mixed; 6 reviews name Halo 53.8/51,608 reviews

Mixed, or too few independent ratings to call. In our score this is 1.75 of 2 points. How we score

Owner Complaint Index
  • Customer support36% of 90
  • Gps accuracy19% of 90
  • Collar fit durability17% of 90
Share of the 90 owner reviews we read that mention each complaint; checked 10/09/2026. How it's counted
Praise that comes up again
  • dogs learn boundaries in days; off-leash on large acreage
  • fences anywhere / travel fences
  • fast warranty replacements (several reviews)
  • Halo 5 battery and charging better than older models (Trustpilot 2026-06-01, Halo 4 owner)
Praise
“Halo 5 corrected Dudley immediatly! He is a new dog and our sanity is back.”
Trustpilot · 09/08/2026 · All reviews
Complaint
“He has been beeped while laying on the floor in our living room or bathroom, well within the boundaries”
Trustpilot · 08/14/2026 · All reviews
Praise
“If anything goes wrong with your collar within your warranty period they are quick to replace it”
Trustpilot · 04/14/2026 · All reviews
Complaint
“it shocked my dog multiple times, often several times a day”
Trustpilot · 06/10/2026 · All reviews
Praise
“I have a halo 5. Although it is very expensive, it is a great product. Very reliable.”
Trustpilot · 08/16/2026 · All reviews
Complaint
“Accuracy off anywhere from 20 feet to 40 feet”
App Store · 09/22/2026 · App listing

Quotes are word for word from the linked pages, and we pick praise and complaints alike. Reviews on the brand's own site and reviews written for a free product are not counted. Store ratings change over time; the date shows when we checked.

Arina Nikoliukina
$524
+ $19.99 shipping
Check price at Halo Collar

Affiliate link