SpotOn vs Halo Collar 5: Which GPS Dog Fence to Buy

Short answer

The Halo Collar 5 is the one for dogs from 10 lb, yards smaller than 1/3 acre, and a lower price at checkout: $524 sale, $599 list on halocollar.com on 10/14/2026, plus a required $9.99/month plan, $643.88 in year one before shipping. SpotOn's Nova Edition costs $999 (archived product page, 08/06/2026) and runs the fence without a plan, so it costs less over time: on monthly billing, Halo's running total passes $999 in year four, before Halo's shipping. SpotOn needs a dog of at least 15 lb and a fence of at least 1/3 acre.

Comparing 2 wireless dog fences9 of 14 specs differ

Affiliate links

Halo Collar 59.25/10Better on 2 of 3 specs
9 of 14 specs differ

Price and terms

Pricelower is better
$524 sale / $599 list
checked 10/14/2026 at halocollar.com
$999
checked 10/09/2026 at web.archive.org
lower is better
Shipping (contiguous US)brand page
$19.99
Free
brand page
Subscriptioncheaper plan is better
Subscription required
$119.88/yr
Subscription optional
cheaper plan is better
$664
price + shipping + plan + consumables
$999
price + shipping + plan + consumables
Warrantysame term
1 year
1 year
same term
Returnssame window
90 days
$25 return fee and handling fee (plus tax)
90 days
same window
9.25 / 10
Excellent
9.25 / 10
Excellent

Tracker and fence

Type
GPS fence
GPS fence
Battery (claimed)brand figure
2 days
1.67 days
brand figure
Networkbrand figure
LTE
GPS/GLONASS/Galileo/BeiDou
brand figure
Appstore ratings, dated
Halo Collar · App Store 4.1
SpotOn GPS Fence · App Store 4.85
store ratings, dated
App required
Yes
Yes

Safety and owners

CPSC recallcpsc.gov search, dated
No recall found (searched 10/09/2026)
No recall found (searched 10/09/2026)
cpsc.gov search, dated
Owner reviews readwhat we read, not a rating
90 read
App Store, Trustpilot
70 read
App Store, Trustpilot
what we read, not a rating

Pick Halo Collar 5 if

your dog weighs 10 to 15 lb, your yard is under 1/3 acre or narrower than 80 ft, or you want to pay $524 now rather than $999, accepting $9.99/month for as long as the fence runs.

SpotOn GPS Dog Fence - Nova Edition is the better fit if

your dog is 15 lb or more on at least 1/3 acre, you want the fence to keep working with no plan, and you expect to use it past year four, when Halo's running total on monthly Bronze passes SpotOn's price. We have no store link for SpotOn.

Both Halo collars, plans and warranty in detail: the Halo brand review. Radio and GPS fences side by side: best wireless dog fences; trackers without a fence: GPS dog collars.

Price and what you pay in year one

Before Halo's shipping, Halo is $475 cheaper at checkout and $355.12 cheaper after year one; the plan closes the gap from there. Halo Collar 5: $524 sale against $599 list on 10/14/2026; the sale rotates (it was $445 during Halo's Prime Day sale on 10/09/2026). Shipping is "Calculated at checkout," which we did not reach; Halo's shipping FAQ lists "$19.99 for Halo Collar kits" (support article, edited 03/24/2026). A plan is required: Bronze at $9.99/month or $109.89 a year, up to 5 fences. First year before shipping and tax: $643.88 monthly, $633.89 annual; with the $19.99 kit shipping, $663.87 and $653.88.

SpotOn Nova: $999 list with no sale price and "Free US Shipping" on the archived product page of 08/06/2026; spotonfence.com returned HTTP 429 to us on 10/09 and 10/14/2026, so the live price, shipping, and 2026 plan prices are unverified; the plan prices below are from an archived page of 09/16/2025. The tracking plan is optional: $9.95/month, $101.88 a year, or $179.76 for two years. First year: $999 for the fence alone, $1,118.40 with monthly tracking. Sales tax varies by state for both.

Running totals, before Halo's shipping: Halo on monthly Bronze reaches $1,003.52 by the end of year four, on annual Bronze $1,073.45 by the end of year five; SpotOn stays at $999 without tracking.

Warranty and returns are close. Both give one year; Halo's runs "from the initial activation date" and excludes "damage caused by dogs or other animals, like rips, bites, chewing." SpotOn's archived warranty page (12/14/2025) adds "a one-time, no-questions-asked refurbished warranty repair" for damage by your dog or accident, and a one-time refurbished replacement for a lost collar. Both take returns for 90 days; Halo deducts "a $25 return fee and handling fee (plus tax)," and SpotOn's restocking terms were not readable.

Correction type and levels

Both collars warn with sound first and make static optional; neither publishes every level count. In each maker's words:

  • Halo Collar 5: "Prevention Feedback" in three stages, "Warning Feedback," "Boundary Feedback," and "Emergency Feedback," each customizable with "Sounds, Vibration patterns, Static correction." The static slider shows "Range: 1–15" (support article 1500011494502). Halo's FAQ: "You're never required to use static with your dog's Halo Collar." The number of vibration intensities is not printed.
  • SpotOn Nova: "a warning tone (starting about 10 feet inside the fence) and an optional static correction at the boundary," with "Progressive boundary alerts as your dog approaches the boundary." With a plan, Manual Feedback lets you "send tones, vibration, static correction (or even play a custom voice command)." Neither the archived SpotOn pages we could read (08/06/2026) nor Halo's comparison page (May 2026) prints the number of static levels for the Nova; the live SpotOn site was unreachable for us on 10/09 and 10/14/2026.

We don't rate correction methods. We found no AVMA position statement on them; the American Veterinary Society of Animal Behavior's 2021 position statement on dog training says aversive methods, "which, by definition, rely on application of force, pain, or emotional or physical discomfort," "should not be used in canine training or for the treatment of behavioral disorders" (avsab.org, read 10/14/2026).

Battery and boundary accuracy: claimed vs measured

Halo Collar 5

Claimed vs measuredbrand claim independent reading
Battery life
2 days
Halo Collar · 10/09/2026
'The collar battery lasts roughly 48 hours.' (author charges nightly)
Scott Einsmann, outdoorlife.com · 02/13/2026 · senior Brittany (weight not stated), fenced backyard, duration not stated
'I charged the battery every two days.'
Carol Bryant, petful.com · 12/11/2025 · Cocker Spaniel, suburban home + one state-park visit; outdoor boundaries not tested

SpotOn GPS Dog Fence - Nova Edition

Claimed vs measuredbrand claim independent reading
Battery life
1.67 days
SpotOn GPS Fence · 10/09/2026
'Battery only lasts about a day and a half-ish'; 'I charge it every night ... because the battery dies sometime during the next day, if I don't.'
Wesley Littlefield, gearjunkie.com · 05/19/2026 · two labs, 60 acres open pasture + trees + two ponds, 'several months'; plan use not stated

Both makers claim about two days or less per charge, and the independent figures land at a day and a half to two days. Halo lists "Up to 48 Hours of Battery Life" and recommends charging nightly; SpotOn lists "up to 40+ hours of containment," or "33+ hours" with a tracking plan. Both charge in about an hour by their own specs.

Battery and boundary accuracy: claimed vs measured
Halo Collar 5SpotOn Nova
Battery, vendorup to 48 hours40+ hours (no plan), 33+ hours (plan)
Battery, reviewer"roughly 48 hours," Outdoor Life (Scott Einsmann, 02/13/2026, senior Brittany, fenced backyard); "every two days," Petful (Carol Bryant, 12/11/2025, Cocker Spaniel, suburban home)"about a day and a half-ish," GearJunkie (Wesley Littlefield, 05/19/2026, two Labs, 60 acres, several months)
Battery, owner"12-16 hours" (Trustpilot, 05/17/2026, Halo 4 and 5 owner)"within 12-18 hours" (App Store, 03/15/2026)
Accuracy, vendor"Precision+ GPS accuracy," no number; "can naturally vary several feet""accuracy under five feet" (footnoted "Independently tested"); drift "typically between 3 to 10 feet near tall structures or heavy forest"
Accuracy, reviewer"accurate within a few feet," Outdoor Life, against yard landmarksnot independently measured

No independent boundary-crossing test exists for either collar in our files. Halo asks for 15 to 20 ft of room from structures and roads; SpotOn advises a 15-foot buffer from roads. Halo publishes its own Halo-vs-SpotOn page with figures for SpotOn's battery, weight, and fence count; those are a competitor's claims, so the SpotOn numbers on this page come only from SpotOn's pages and independent reviewers.

Dog size and fence limits

Halo fits smaller dogs and smaller fences; SpotOn sets a higher floor on both.

Dog size and fence limits
Halo Collar 5SpotOn Nova
Dog minimum10 lb; "at least 5 months old"15 lb; about six months (pre-Nova FAQ, 2025)
Neck8 to 30.5 in (support), 8 to 30 in (PDP)10 to 26 in
Collar weightabout 4.6 oz (Halo's figure)not published by SpotOn
Smallest fence30 x 30 ft (recommended)1/3 acre, 80 ft at the narrowest point
Fences5 on Bronze, 20 Silver, unlimited Goldunlimited, no plan needed
WaterIP67IP67

Training

Neither fence is ready on day one, and both makers include help. Halo's in-app program is "8 comprehensive lessons" designed with Cesar Millan, and its support says "It typically takes about 21 days for new behaviors to become consistent habits." Bronze includes live video support; Gold adds "live sessions with expert trainers." SpotOn: "Most owners spend about 15 minutes a day, and most dogs are fully trained within a couple of weeks," plus free 30-minute virtual sessions "with a certified trainer," no plan required.

Consult a certified trainer or your veterinarian before using a correction collar, especially with puppies, senior dogs or dogs with anxiety.

Network, subscription and offline

The core difference: Halo's fence stops working without a plan, SpotOn's doesn't. Halo uses LTE, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth with a SIM covering "(AT&T, Verizon, T-mobile, and dozens more worldwide)." Fences are stored on the collar and keep working without Wi-Fi or cell signal while the plan is active, but a paused plan means "No tracking or GPS connection (SIM is suspended)" and "No prevention feedback." Halo's FAQ: "A plan is required to keep your collar active and access all your Halo collar has to offer."

SpotOn's boundary runs on a "151-satellite network" with no cell service, which SpotOn says works "even in remote areas with heavy tree cover." The optional plan adds live location, escape alerts, low-battery notifications, Manual Feedback, and activity maps over a "universal" SIM; SpotOn names no US carrier. For both collars, coverage not measured — check the carrier map for your address.

What owners complain about

Customer support is the top theme in both samples, praise and complaints counted together. Both samples are brand-level, through 10/09/2026; we don't count reviews on the brand's own site.

  • Halo: 90 reviews (App Store 50, Trustpilot 40), Halo generations mixed. Customer support 32, GPS accuracy 17, collar fit and durability 15, unexpected corrections 12, battery 10, subscription price 0. "He has been beeped while laying on the floor in our living room or bathroom, well within the boundaries" (Trustpilot, 08/14/2026, Halo 5).
  • SpotOn: 70 reviews (App Store 50, Trustpilot 20). Customer support 19, also the most repeated praise; battery 7, app connection 7, GPS accuracy 5, unexpected corrections 2. "We've had both dogs walk through their established boundary without receiving a correction" (Trustpilot, 07/20/2026).

App Store on 10/09/2026: Halo 4.1 of 5 over 9,398 ratings, SpotOn 4.85 over 10,526. Trustpilot, which rates the seller: Halo 3.8 over 1,608, SpotOn 4.1 over 870.

Safety and recalls

The CPSC recall database returned no recalls for Halo Collar (Protect Animals With Satellites) or SpotOn (OnPoint Systems) on 10/09/2026 or on 10/14/2026, searched by brand and by "dog collar," "dog fence," and "GPS tracker" through the saferproducts.gov Recall API. Incident reports were not searched.

FAQ

Which is better, SpotOn or Halo?

Halo Collar 5 for dogs from 10 lb, small or narrow yards, and a lower price at checkout ($524 sale on 10/14/2026). SpotOn for dogs from 15 lb on 1/3 acre or more, if you want no monthly bill: its $999 fence runs without a plan, and Halo's monthly Bronze passes that total in year four. Battery is about the same in reviews, 36 to 48 hours (best wireless dog fences).

How much does SpotOn cost per month?

$0 for the fence itself. SpotOn's archived plan page (09/16/2025) lists optional tracking at $9.95/month, $101.88 a year, or $179.76 for two years; without a plan, "you can create GPS fences and train your dog to stay in, but without seeing his location." The live page returned errors on 10/09 and 10/14/2026, so check current prices at checkout.

Does Halo have a monthly fee?

Yes. Halo's plans page on 10/09/2026, unchanged on 10/14/2026: Bronze $9.99/month, Silver $14.99, Gold $19.99, or $109.89, $164.89, and $219.89 a year. Halo's FAQ: "A plan is required to keep your collar active and access all your Halo collar has to offer." A paused plan suspends the SIM and the fence feedback (Halo brand review).

Other comparisons